State of Origin comes to sailing

With interstate rivalries at an all-time high, organisers of the Sundance Marine Melbourne Osaka Cup have decided to bring the State of Origin concept to the world of international two-handed yacht racing.

Our race next year has attracted an unprecedented number of entries from all over Australia as well as internationally. Looking at entries around the country we have 14 from Victoria, 5 from Queensland, 4 from NSW, 3 from Tasmania, 3 from Western Australia and 1 from South Australia. With these large number of entries, the organisers have decided to add a bit of fun along with the serious competition by announcing the State of Origin series.

The Series will be run in three stages. The first stage will be held in mid-March and will consist of a race series run in the Sandringham Yacht Club’s six 7.5-metre Beneteau Yachts.

The second stage will, of course, be the Melbourne to Osaka race itself and the final stage will be arranged using dragon boats at the Hoko Marina in Osaka. Organisers maintain that by the time competitors arrive at Osaka they will be so fit and trim that they will want to test their new-found strength in the dragon boats.

There will be substantial cash prizes and awards during the series but the State of Origin series is really all about having fun.

SYC Commodore Rob Davis has issued the challenge to all competitors in the Melbourne Osaka Cup to join in the first series of races in the State of Origin and international jury member Rob Ware (pictured above) is preparing the Notice of Race for Stage One, the SYC race.

Keep an eye out here for more information and to follow the dramatic build-up to the race.

“ステート オブ オリジン シリーズ”はラグビーのオールスターシリーズの名前です。それは、オーストラリアの最も人気のあるスポーツイベントのひとつで、TVでは高視聴率を取り、どのゲームもチケットは完売してしまいます。1980年から行われているこのシリーズは毎年クィーンズランド州選抜とニューサウスウェルズ州選抜によって行われています。

メルボルン−大阪カップの競技者がオーストラリアの全州から出ていることから、主催者はヨット版ステートオブオリジンを開催することを決めました。メルボルン−大阪カップのメンバーを見ると、ヴィクトリア州から14艇、クィーンズランド州から5艇、ニューサウスウェルズ州から4艇、タスマニア州から3艇、ウエスタンオーストラリア州から3艇 そして サウスオーストラリア州から1艇です。


  1. 第一ステージはSYCの7.5 m ベネトウを使って3月に開催する
  2. 第二ステージはメルボルン−大阪カップ
  3. ファイナルステージは北港マリーナにて北港のヨットで開催する